Gallery

Let the (Form & Genre) challenge… begin!

2012 is going to be a good year. In twelve months time, I will look back (with satisfaction) on the year that my youngest child went off to big school, the year I (hopefully) finished my degree, the year I worked in a totally new industry and most importantly, the year that I wrote like no one was reading.

I plan to write a lot, this year. I’m not going to mince words.

At the end of November last year, I felt drained. Completely devoid of creative gumption. And I didn’t even finish NaNoWriMo! I felt that way because I had put expectations on myself that weren’t realistic and I never gave myself credit for the things I did finish. I lost that shiny-happy-glowy feeling I got when I put pen to paper or fingers to keyboard. I forgot how it felt to be totally in the zone and to emerge from a story and wonder where the day/night went. I shushed the roary-shouty thing inside me that insisted I write, and eventually, it became a small, meek and rather ineffectual thing that didn’t mind too much that I didn’t want to play anymore.

I was restless but didn’t know what to do or how to fix it. The words just weren’t ready to come out yet.

And then my writer/editor/publisher fairy god-bestie, told me about the Write Anything Form & Genre Challenge 2012. To say I was excited, is a cop out. I was freaking pumped! I took one good look at the challenge schedule and knew this was exactly what I had been needing to boot me out of my funk and get words on paper again.

This Sunday, the 12th February is the submission date for the first challenge – a 1500 word short story in 3rd person narrator (open genre). The submission involves posting your stories on your blog (with the FGC# in the title) and linking on the Write Anything blog, to enter.  If you’re looking for something to help prompt you, or you want to write with a bunch of like-minded (seriously nice) people, take a squiz at the challenge and have a crack at it.

Tune in every Sunday for another installment of Laura’s Big Write Fest 2012 as she writes like nobody is reading!

3 responses to “Let the (Form & Genre) challenge… begin!

  1. I could easily cut and paste your words and put them on my blog – because you’ve described JUST how I was feeling at the end of last year too. Exhausted, wrung out, defeated with a pouting muse who’d been forgotten at the railway station months earlier.

    And I’m pumped too. This is the FIRST time ever, I’ve created something and then wanted to dive right into it. And I like the idea of PROMPTed being paired with the FGC2012.

    I have to thank YOU, for all the support and energy you’ve infused into my writing this week. There’s nothing like someone who totally digs your work, to keep you at it.

    And yes, this week I lost time. Totally absorbed in my stories… to the point where dinner was late, work didn’t get one and I floated! May the fun and games continue!

  2. I love that this challenge has given you some incentive to continue writing! Recently, I am finding that I have no confidence in my writing at all, so I making an effort to let others read my words, despite my inhibitions about it. This challenge gives me one way to do that.

    Looking forward to reading your submissions!

  3. Pingback: In a Southern Garnet [FGC#3] | im not the messiah … just a very busy mum

Leave a Reply

